Impossible Transformations

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2

Christmas 2016 changed things for me, in a big way!

It started with a prayer, that God would show me the true “reason for the season.” Behind the Merry Christmas tidings, the catchy slogan, the decorations, the family time, the gift exchanges, the pressure to make up in one month everything that I failed to do the last 11 months, there is something that I have been missing. There is a pattern of joy missing. There is a big picture part of the story that I have been missing all these years, though I have been baptized since I was five and continually renewed by the Spirit all these years.

This time though, this time, I saw the story, the birth story of Jesus Christ, in a new light.

It is not just that my Savior and King was born. The very thought of that idea is overwhelming and nearly incomprehensible to me. But several things were brought to light. God is bringing something new to us. The impossible things, those things we deem as impossible, are actually possible with God. Virgins really can give birth, to the life saving Christ. God really can birth something new in us. God really can make a messy, broken, and depressed life into something new and victorious! The message of Christmas is this:

God really can birth something new and impossible in me!

He can birth something new and impossible in you too! So, starting this New Year, where God is birthing the impossible thing within me, I have decided to change my mind. To allow God’s Word to transform me in a new, and impossible things are made possible, kind of way. I have committed to memorizing 24 verses in 12 months. Starting with Romans 12:2, “and do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Thank you to the ministry of Beth Moore and her 2017 Scripture Memory Team, found here if you would like to join:

https://blog.lproof.org/2017/01/ssmt-2017-verse-1.html

Why am I doing this?

1 – I feel drawn to it, by the Holy Spirit. I believe that God will completely renew my mind by doing this. The depression and anxiety that has for so long taken me down, will no longer have victory over my life! I look forward to what this renewed mind will look like, and how God will use and renew all these years of sorrow, because He promises to use all things for our good and His glory. I believe that it is necessary to know the will and calling that God has for my life.

2 – Discipline. I whole-hearted believe that God wants to plant the seeds of discipline into my scatter-brained mind. I often feel pulled in several directions. This causes me to be the “jack of all trades, and master of none.” Capable of doing much, but accomplishing nothing of significance, because I am spread out too thin. Focus. I really can focus my mind on His truth.

I share this with you because I hope that you know that God can birth something new in you too! The question is, are you willing to accept the invitation? Are you willing to take the challenge? Are you willing to find out how God can transform our messy, broken, and depressed lives into something new? I challenge you today, to allow the truth of God’s word to transform you in a new way this year. How will you respond?

The impossible things, really are possible, with God!

Do you believe that? I hope you do, because that is our mind transforming remnant of hope!

One thought on “Impossible Transformations

Leave a Reply

