Temptation

“… You have lovingly delivered my soul from the pit of corruption, for You have cast all my sins behind Your back.” Isaiah 38:17.

Temptations are like a whac-a-mole game. You know that arcade game where the mole pops up from the various holes and you bop it back down. It starts slowly, but then more and more moles pop up, just like temptations. And the temptations, just like the moles, get more difficult to bop down, as they increase in speed and number.

THAT is what my temptations feel like lately. Like I am on the losing end of a bop-it game. And I get the distinct feeling that I am a failure, because the temptations seem to come in the form of the past. It pops up, and I keep popping it down, and it keeps popping up. Bringing with it the unease of past shame and fear. All the times I was not able to bop down the temptations. And suddenly I feel like the game loser all over again.

That is where God comes in.

He is so good!

Not me…but He!

He reminds me that He has delivered my soul from pit of sin already. I am no longer a loser at the bop-it temptation game. Those days and the past are behind me. God is renewing my mind, so that I will not give up or give in to the bop-it temptations of life. I may not always succeed, but I know with the Lord’s help, I can keep bopping these temptations down and that when I miss one, His grace is sufficient enough for me to keep pressing on. Trusting that God has already delivered me from this pit of sin. The past is behind me. I am no longer in the pit of temptations.

“No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13

“Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Matthew 26:41

Leave a Reply

