Unpardonable Sin

“Dear friends, if we deliberately continue sinning after we have received knowledge of the truth, there is no longer any sacrifice that will cover these sins. There is only the terrible expectation of God’s judgment and the raging fire that will consume His enemies.” Hebrews 10:26-27 NLT.

Do I deliberately and wilfully sin? I tend to ask questions of scripture. This one is of particular importance, especially lately. You see, I have been baptized and grafted into the kingdom of God since I was five.  And since then, I have still committed a whole lot of sins. No perfect child syndrome here. And even now, there are sins that I wrestle with on a daily basis. I am not yet perfected, but I press on to obtain the prize of what God is calling me to do. So, this begs the question. Do I sin deliberately to the point where there is no longer a sacrifice for sins? Especially, since there are Christians in the media that suggest otherwise. An honest question. Am I this person?

Am I a person without hope? Am I a person who can no longer expect my sins to be forgiven?

Read the passage again. If we deliberately continue sinning after we have received the knowledge. Which brings me to my second question. What knowledge? After I have received what knowledge? Knowledge of the truth. What truth? The truth that sets us free. What is the truth that sets us free? If the Son, Jesus Christ, has set us free, we are free indeed. If I deliberately sin, after knowing this truth, I can no longer expect that my sins will be covered. Right? Let me wrestle through this passage with you.

That sounds a bit like me though. I have sinned after receiving this truth. But considering the context of…well…the whole Bible and who God is, there is more to this passage than upon a first glance or face value read. Jesus died for our sins, because we do not measure up to the law, not so that we could have a second chance at trying to measure up to it. He didn’t pay the penalty for our sins, for us not being able to measure up to the law, so that we can have a second chance at trying to live up to the law which we never measure up to.

Which begs the question again: Do I continually and deliberately sin, to the point where there is no longer a salvation covering of my sins? Inquiring minds need to know this.

The NKJV version of the Bible states, “if we sin willfully.” Wilful is a much more accurate term in understanding this passage. My will verses God’s will. If I have come to know the truth about Jesus Christ. If I know His will. If I know that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life and no one comes to the Father accept through Him. If I know that the Son, Jesus Christ, has set me free, and yet I choose not to live in that freedom, in that truth, I am indeed wilfully sinning. If I come to know this truth, and yet I still desire my own will, my own way of saving myself, by my own righteousness, then yes I am without hope.

The ultimate sin, or abomination, is a Serpent kind of a sin. A form or attempt of usurping God’s plan of salvation for my own plan. My own goodness. My own righteousness. My own beauty, and glory, and honor. A continual rejection of God’s grace and God’s plan. A continually lifting of my own name on high, above His. A continual boasting that it is by my own works, my own choices, my own greatness that I am blessed or others are cursed.

If I continue to believe that, if we continue to believe that, even if we as a church continue to believe and teach that, than we are without hope. We. We have become a dead church. Having a name that we are alive, yet we are dead. Because Jesus is the source of our life and the only hope for our salvation. Jesus is the only confidence that we have. Without Him, we are just self-righteous sinners that fail miserably at trying to save ourselves. We are self-righteous sinners that boast of being Jesus-like people by our own right beliefs and our own right actions. This is how the wise in their own craftiness become foolishness to God. Pitiful and without hope are we all, at trying to save ourselves.

I pray that you would not be confused by passages like these and people who speak such foolish things. I pray that you would know down to the depths of your soul, the inner most place, that we are not a people without hope. This is our testimony and our story. This is why we have our Savior Jesus Christ. He is our remnant of hope. Cling to Him. Hold tight to this truth, to this confidence in Him, and never let it go.

“So do not throw away this confident truth in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you!” Hebrews 10:35 NLT.

2 thoughts on “Unpardonable Sin

  1. I love how you question and wrestle with everything! You inspire me to look deeper and ask those questions of myself. You are an amazing writer and have great insight to things! Though the wrestling may not be fun, you are helping others (me!) and yourself! Keep on writing my friend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

